Did you say you are an introvert?

Let’s talk about hobbies. Hobbies, or interests in general, can reveal how introverted or extroverted someone is.

For me, it has been tricky to explain my hobbies accurately, since some of my favorite activities don’t sound like standard hobbies. For example:

  • Staying home and doing nothing specific — People then ask, what did you do then? You must have done something, right? Well, I don’t remember and and I don’t really care. The point is that I was cozy and free, free to think about anything that pops up.
  • Visiting a place alone and wandering around aimlessly — People then ask, was it a good place? Was it fun? Well, I didn’t even think about these questions before going there. The point is that I was free to move anywhere without worries.

These activities attract me because they are relaxing. They require little effort. Thus, at the same time, I could clear my mind or I could think about random pieces of different things all at once.

This is how I relax and recharge. I love to spend time on nothing specific. I love to spend my free time with me, myself. Being alone is almost always an enjoyment. When energetic enough, I also enjoy other things that are more stimulating and closer to standard hobbies: reading, writing, sports, foods, good friends, creative jokes, etc.

Now the reader might think that I must be boring. Maybe, but I wouldn’t use this negative word to describe myself. I would use positive words like “calm” or “focused” instead.

Update
Since introverts enjoy staying alone, they may not enjoy public attention even after they succeed. For example, Marshall Nirenberg. Thus, the population of successful people may appear more extroverted than they really are.

4 thoughts on “Did you say you are an introvert?

  1. Pingback: Why junior PhD students are miserable | jiasi

Leave a Reply

